Annual Seminar 2019: Sustaining Composites Growth in Adverse Environments

2019 Annual Seminar and SME Table Top Exhibition, 6 June 2019, Edinburgh


09:30 Welcome: Tim Wybrow, Chapter Chair.

09:35 Fabric reinforced thermoplastic composites – challenges and opportunities
Tim Swales, Johns Manville, Colorado, USA.

10:00 Thermoplastic Infusion and In-Situ Polymerisation
Edward McCarthy and Dipa Roy, University of Edinburgh.

10:25 Interfacial bonding in injection over-moulding of thermoplastic composite laminates
Ali Aravand, Queens University Belfast / Noel Bloomfield, Denroy Plastics Bangor, Co. Down.

10:50 Coffee Break

11:20 Highly loaded structures in the sub-sea environment – the challenges of designing tidal turbine blade
Robert Bray, SIMEC Atlantis Energy Ltd., Bristol.

11:45 Connecting Coating Properties to Rain Erosion Performance
Kirsten Dyer, Offshore Renewable Energy Catapult, Blyth.

12:10 Qualification approach of PVDF composites for high pressure CO2 applications in the Oil & Gas industry
Alexandre Paternoster (Airborne Oil and Gas) and Natalie Jordan (Solvay).

12:35 Development of novel fibre reinforced polymer composite laminate used in Oil & Gas metal pipe repair systems
Michail Kalloudis, Impact Solutions Ltd., Grangemouth.

13:00 Lunch including the Chapter AGM at 13:30.

14:30 Towards closing the loop on glass fibres recycled from end-of-life and waste GRP
James Thomason / Liu Yang, University of Strathclyde.

14:55 Towards stable failure of CFRPs using a bio-inspired crossed lamellar microstructure
Riikka Häsä, Imperial College London – Winner of the 2018 SAMPE Student Seminar.

15:20 Undertanding the Materials we use Through the Life of an Aircraft
Jonathan Oakes, Spirit AeroSystems.

15:55 Seminar Close

16:00 Afternoon refreshments

16:25 Optional visit to the Engineering facilities: University of Edinburgh

Seminar Sponsors

We are very grateful to our generous Seminar Sponsors: TenCate Advanced Composites; Johns Manville; Babcock; Oil & Gas Innovation Centre; Irish Composites Centre; Northern Ireland Advanced Engineering Competence Centre; Lightweight Manufacturing Centre, University of Strathclyde; and the University of Edinburgh.

Membership Awards

The following people were awarded long service SAMPE membership pins:

Forty Years: Maurice Cray

Thirty Five Years: Mike Commander, John Summerscales

Twenty Years: Jim Platts

Fifteen Years: Giuseppe Dell’ Anno, David Bacon, Lee Harper

Ten Years: Jerome Lafarge, Chris McHugh

Five Years: Frazer Barnes, Myriam Yagoubi, Oliver Gaite, Raul Garcia Tapia, Nasim Nagar, Nicholas Verge, Shuaijin Carreyette.

Image courtesy of Edinburgh First, used with permission.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *